IGF History

Jan 1958 The USGA has received many invitations for international matches against individual countries and was unable to attend them all.The USGA Executive Committee, discussing yet another generous invitation – this time from Japan – proposed that it’s time an international team competition be established so that all countries can take part in these types of events.
March 1958 Representatives from the USGA go to Scotland to discuss the idea with representatives from the R&A. The concept is enthusiastically received.
May 1958 Representatives from 35 countries meet in Washington, D.C., hosted by the USGA and the R&A, to establish the World Amateur Golf Council, so that it may conduct the World Amateur Team Championship. The meeting is arranged through cooperation with Pan American Airlines and the U.S. Department of State, and the trips of all attendees are funded by an anonymous group, the Friends of American Golf.President Dwight D. Eisenhower welcomes the group in the White House Rose Garden. The Council is begun with 32 Member Organizations and governing Articles are established.
Oct 1958 The first Championship is hosted by the R&A on the Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland. The Australian team defeats the U.S. team in an 18-hole playoff by two strokes. Bobby Jones is the Captain of the U.S. team.With the permission of the President of the United States of America, the competition is played for the Eisenhower Trophy, which is inscribed, “To foster friendship and sportsmanship among the Peoples of the World,” the Council’s guiding principle. The trophy is presented to the USGA and the R&A by the Friends of American Golf.
Sept 1960 The second Championship is hosted by the USGA at Merion Golf Club (East Course) in Ardmore, Pennsylvania. Although the original 1958 Delegates envisioned that the Championship would probably be match play by this year, it has remained at stroke play through the present day. Jack Nicklaus’s 72-hole record of 269 still stands today. (Ben Hogan won the 1950 U.S. Open at Merion with a 287.)
1964 The French Golf Federation proposes that the U.S. Curtis Cup Team come to France for an informal match after that year’s Curtis Cup Match in Wales. The USGA accepts the invitation but also suggests inviting other nations to create a women’s counterpart to the World Amateur Team Championship. The French are delighted to do so.Vicomtesse de Saint Sauveur (known to many of you readers as Lally Segard), of France, and Mrs. Henri Prunaret, of the United States of America, planned the Championship. In addition, Vicomtesse de Saint Sauveur had the idea to ask her friends from Portugal if they would be willing to donate a trophy she’d heard they had in their possession.Ricardo and Silvia Espirito Santo confirmed they had a gold-plated Cup, originally owned by Nicolas II, the Tsar of Russia, which was purchased in an auction after the Russian Revolution of 1917. The Espirito Santos had originally intended the trophy for a Portuguese International event that was no longer being played, and were delighted to give the Cup for the benefit of a World Championship.
Oct 1964 The French Golf Federation holds the first Women’s World Amateur Team Championship. Twenty-five teams compete. France beats the USA by one stroke.With sincere thanks to France, it is unanimously agreed that the World Amateur Golf Council will hereafter sponsor and conduct the Women’s event.
2003 The World Amateur Golf Council changes its name to the International Golf Federation.
2008 The IGF membership approved the formation of the Olympic Golf Committee to coordinate golf’s bid on to the Olympic Programme.
Oct 2009 At the International Olympic Committee Executive Session in October 2009 in Copenhagen, golf is voted in as one of the new sports on the Olympic Programme after having been absent for 113 years – since 1904 Olympics in St. Louis, USA.
Oct 2010 Since it is a prerequisite of the International Olympic Committee for every sport on the Olympic Programme to have an International Federation as its representative body, the IGF was deemed the most appropriate existing body to do this.
At the IGF biennial meeting in Argentina, the new constitution of the IGF was ratified and the federation’s headquarters moved to Lausanne, Switzerland. The IGF Board was formed and the IGF was granted professionals as an additional category of membership.


1. Argentina Dr. Eduardo H. Maglione (Administrative Committee)
2. Australia E.P. Prendergast (Administrative Committee)
3. Austria Hugo M. Eckelt
4. Belgium Pierre Abbeloos
5. Bermuda George R. Holmes
6. Bolivia Jaime del Castillo I.
7. Brazil Jose Brady
8. Canada Gordon B. Taylor, James P. Anglin
9. Ceylon Annesley de Silva
10. Chile German Edwards
11. China Chen Yih
12. Colombia Harry R. Child
13. Denmark* (Swedish Delegate)
14. Egypt Mahmoud Soliman
15. Finland P.H. Zilliacus
16. France* (Italian Delegate)
17. Germany Willy Schniewind
18. Great Britain Henry H. Turcan (Joint Chairman, Administrative Committee),
N.C. Selway (Administrative Committee)
19. Italy Francesco Ruspoli di Morignana (Administrative Committee)
20. Japan Shun Nomura (Administrative Committee)
21. Malaya William H. Day
22. Mexico Raul Valdes V., Rodolfo Patron
23. Netherlands Charles E. Veltman
24. New Zealand Douglas O. Whyte (Administrative Committee)
25. Norway* (Swedish Delegate)
26. Peru Gabriel Tudela
27. Philippines Mervyn W. Simpson
28. Portugal Dr. Jose de Sousa e Melo
29. South Africa Maurice Tom Jackson
30. Sweden Sune Malmstrom
31. Switzerland Dr. Peter Prager
32. Thailand Prayad Buranasiri
33. United States John D. Ames (Joint Chairman, Administrative Committee),
Charles L. Peirson (Administrative Committee),
Richard S. Tufts, Wm. Ward Foshay, Joseph C. Dey, Jr. (Secretary
34. Uruguay Richard B. Hewlett
35. Venezuela Enrique Vidal
* Countries were not original Council Members.

Connect With Us

Find Us on Facebook Follow Us On Twitter

Newsletter Sign up

Copyright © 2014 International Golf Federation. All rights reserved.