World Amateur Team Championships

WATC 2012 Opening Ceremony


What are the World Amateur Team Championships?

Conducted by the International Golf Federation (formerly the World Amateur Golf Council), which comprises the national governing bodies of golf in more than 125 countries, the World Amateur Team Championships are a biennial international amateur golf competition rotated among three geographic zones of the world: Asia-Pacific, American and European-African.


Each team has two or three players and plays 18-holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.


IGF National Members may enter one women’s team and one men’s team.
Players must be amateur golfers under the Rules of Amateur Status of the R&A and the United States Golf Association and a National of the country which the competitor is representing as defined in the IGF’s Nationality Policy.


The winning team in the women’s competition receives custody of the Espirito Santo Trophy for the ensuing two years. The winning team in the men’s competition receives custody of the Eisenhower Trophy for the ensuing two years. Members of the winning teams receive gold medals, members of the second-place teams receive silver medals and members of the third-place teams receive bronze medals. The lowest individual score in each championship is recognized at the respective closing ceremony, but no prize is awarded.


Eisenhower Trophy


Espirito Santo Trophy

Recent Stories


Entries for the 2016 World Amateur Team Championships Open

LAUSANNE, Switzerland (24 February ) – Entries for the 2016 World Amateur Team Championships, conducted by the International Golf Federation... more

Mexico unveils the 2016 WATC logo

The logo for the 2016 World Amateur Team Championships features a powerful creature that appears to be wrapping itself around... more

Connect With Us

Find Us on Facebook Follow Us On Twitter

Newsletter Sign up

Copyright © 2014 International Golf Federation. All rights reserved.