2018 Espirito Santo Trophy

WATC 2018 Ireland


The Irish Ladies Golf Union and the Golfing Union of Ireland hosted the 2018 World Amateur Team Championship in Maynooth, near Dublin.

Edition28th edition31st edition
Dates29th August to 1st September 20185th September to 8th September 2018
LocationThe Montgomerie and O’Meara courses at Carton House were used for the Championships
Participating CountriesA total of 59 teams entered the 2018 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship71 teams competed in the 2018 Men’s World Amateur Team Championship
ResultsResults databaseResults database
Photo GalleryPhotos of the events are available in the Photo Gallery
WebsiteClick here to access the official Website

Check out the following videos:

15th Hole O'Meara Course at Carton House Video

WATC presentation Video

Championship Documents

  • USA 2018 Espirito Santo Trophy
    United States of America team members (left to right); Lilia Vu, and captain Stasia Collins, Jennifer Kupcho, and Kristen Gillman at the 18th green, following the final round of stroke play at the 2018 Women's World Amateur Team at Carton House Golf Club in Dublin, Ireland on Saturday, September 1, 2018. (Copyright USGA/Steven Gibbons)
  • Denmark 2018 Eisenhower Trophy
    The team from Denmark poses with the Eisenhower Trophy (left to right): captain Torben Henriksen Nyehuus, John Axelsen, Nicolai Hojgaard, and Rasmus Hojgaard at the 18th green following the final round of stroke play at the 2018 World Amateur Team at Carton House Golf Club in Dublin, Ireland on Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018. (Copyright USGA/Steven Gibbons)

Did you know?

  • Espirito Santo Trophy
    • The USA took the when Gillman and Kupcho fired 8-under 65s on the O’Meara Course in round two and went from a one-stroke lead through 36 holes to a five-stroke lead through 54 holes to a 10–stroke victory.
    • The USA has won 20 total medals in the Espirito Santo Trophy competition (14 gold, three silver, and three bronze).
    • The Republic of Korea has won eight medals (four gold, two silver and two bronze
    • Juyun ‘Birdie’ Kim, captain of the Republic of Korea team, won the 2005 U.S. Women’s Open.
    • The best round of the day at either course was an 8-under-65 by Jacklyn Lee of Canada on the O’Meara
    • The top three individual scorers all played with the last group of their country and were the last players on the course. Yuka Yasuda of Japan (-15), Ayean Cho of Korea (-17) and Jennifer Kupcho of the USA (-15) were a combined 47- under par
  • Eisenhower Trophy
    • Colombia’s Esteban Restrepo scored the first hole-in-one at the Eisenhower Trophy since 2010 on the par-3 seventh hole of the O’Meara Course using an 8-iron. He was 3-under on the tee and finished with a round of 5-under-par 68. Teammate Ivan Camilo Ramirez Velandia added a 4-under-68 and they posted a 9-under 137 to move up to 18th place.
    • Denmark’s identical twins Rasmus and Nicolai Hojgaard had identical 9-under par scores of 208 through 54 holes.
    • The last one-stroke margin of victory was in 1968 when the USA prevailed over Great Britain and Ireland (868-869) in Australia.
    • New Zealand was vying for its first medal (fifth overall) since it won gold in 1992 with a four-player team of Phillip Tataurangi, Michael Campbell, Stephen Scahill and Gordon Moorheard that broke the WATC scoring record by 11 strokes with an 823. At that time, three scores of four counted and the previous mark was 834 set by the USA in 1960 with a team that included Jack Nicklaus. The USA finished second that year with two Major winners on the team – Justin Leonard (1997 Open) and David Duval (2001 Open). Tataurangi and Campbell finished one-two in the individual scoring.
    • USA won its 26th medal (15 gold, nine silver and two bronze).
    • Spain won its fourth overall medal and first since a bronze-medal finish in 2014.
    • Defending champion Australia finished T-12th.
    • The winning team gets custody of the Eisenhower Trophy for the ensuing two years and each player receives a gold medal. The second-place team receives silver medals and the third-place team receives bronze medals.
We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. To learn more, read the relevant section of the applicable Privacy Policy. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies.