Japan To Host World Amateur Team Championships In 2014

Pictured is the second hole at Iriyama Course at the Prince Hotel Resort in Karuizama in Nagano Prefecture, Japan, which is one of the two courses to be played at the 2014 World Amateur Team Championships. (courtesy of Japan Golf Association)
(courtesy of Japan Golf Association)

Buenos Aires, Argentina (28 October) – Japan’s city of Karuizawa, in Nagano Prefecture, has been selected as the site of the 2014 World Amateur Team Championships, the International Golf Federation (IGF) announced at its Biennial Meeting.

The Prince Hotel Resort’s Iriyama and Oshitate courses will be used for the championships.

These championships will be hosted by the Japan Golf Association (JGA). The 26th women’s championship for the Espirito Santo Trophy and the 29th men’s championship for the Eisenhower Trophy will be played in September 2014.

“The International Golf Federation is extremely pleased to accept the bid of the Japan Golf Association to host the 2014 World Amateur Team Championships,” said IGF Joint Chairmen Allan Gormly and Jim Hyler. “Returning to Japan for these championships more than 50 years after the third Eisenhower Trophy competition is a historic moment for our Federation.”

“The Japan Golf Association is supportive of the International Golf Federation and its activities and has been from the very beginning,” said Taizo Kawata, the JGA’s managing director and chairman of international affairs. “It is our first chance to host the Espirito Santo Trophy competition and we consider it a special privilege to have the world come to Japan for these championships.”

Both championships, which feature some of the world’s leading amateurs, are played over 72 holes of stroke play. Each country is represented by a team of two or three players.

The men’s competition of the 2010 World Amateur Team Championship, hosted by the Asociación Argentina de Golf, is currently being played at Buenos Aires Golf Club and Olivos Golf Club in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The 2010 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship concluded on 23 October on the same courses and Korea claimed the Espirito Santo Trophy by a record 17 strokes.

The 2012 Championships will be played in Antalya, Turkey at Cornelia Golf Club (Nick Faldo Course) and Antalya Golf Club (PGA Sultan Course) for the men’s competition and Gloria Golf Club’s Old and New Courses for the women’s competition.

The IGF was founded in 1958 to encourage the international development of golf and to employ the game as a vehicle to foster friendship and sportsmanship among the peoples of the world. The World Amateur Team Championships are biennial international amateur competitions, which are rotated among three geographic zones: Asia-Pacific, Americas and Europe-Africa. The IGF comprises the national governing bodies in more than 120 countries and serves as the International Olympic Committee’s recognized International Federation for golf,

For more information, contact Pete Kowalski, IGF Media Officer at pkowalski@usga.org.

Copyright © 2012 International Golf Federation. All rights reserved.

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. To learn more, read the relevant section of the applicable Privacy Policy. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies.