Antidoping landscape Rio 2016 Olympics Golf Course

2016 Eisenhower Trophy Fun Facts

Fun Facts About The Eisenhower Trophy

As the 30th Eisenhower Trophy gets underway today, here are some fast and hard facts about the field competing in the World Amateur Team Championships:

A total of 71 teams are entered in the 30th World Amateur Team Championship, the second-largest field in Eisenhower Trophy history. In 2012, 72 teams competed.

Armenia, Haiti, the Republic of Moldova and the Republic of Kazakhstan are making their first appearances in the World Amateur Team Championship.

The USA is vying to become the first team to win three consecutive WATC championships since the USA won three straight titles in 2000, 2002 and 2004.

Mexico is playing in its 28th World Amateur Team Championship. It won the silver medal in 2012. Members of the team were Roberto Halpern, Juan Antonio Estrada and Thomas Lehmann. As the host nation in 1966, Japan finished fifth in the 32-team field.

Maverick McNealy, 20, of the USA, is the winner of the 2016 Mark H. McCormack Medal, holding the No. 1 position in the World Amateur Golf Ranking™ at the conclusion of the ranking period.

WORLD AMATEUR GOLF RANKING™ (members of the top 25 playing in WATC; ranking as of Sept. 11)
1 – Maverick McNealy (USA)
3 – Curtis Luck (AUS)
4 – Ivan Cantero (ESP)
5 – Matthias Schwab (AUT)
6 – Jack Hume (IRL)
7 – Scott Gregory (ENG)
8 – Adrian Meronk (POL)
9 – Joaquin Niemann (CHI)
11 – Cameron Davis (AUS)
12 – Harrison Endycott (AUS)
13 – Robert McIntyre (SCO)
15 – Jamie Bower (ENG)
16 – Antoine Rozner (FRA)
17 – Juan Alvarez (URU)
18 – Scottie Scheffler (USA)
19 – Grant Forrest (SCO)
21 – Viktor Hovland (NOR)

Manuel Jimenez (57, born 1-21-59), Ian Espitalier Noel (56, born 2-28-60), Maurice Pasha Brandt (55, born 8-26-61)

Jean-Philippe Mehu (15, born 6-7-01), Kshitij Naveed Kaul (15, born 12-3-00), Panagiotis Pantazopoulos (15, born 9-22-00), Ryan Staykov (16, born 6-13-00), Pedro Silva (16, born 5-9-00), Dean Naime (16, born 5-2-00), Jakub Hrinda (16, born 3-23-00), Adrien Demont de Chassart (16, born 3-1-00), Matyas Zapletal (16, born 2-11-00), Junbin Zhang (16, born 11-27-99), Julian Perico (16, born 11-16-99)

15 players from the 2016 WATC who were named to the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) Division I, Division II and other division All-America teams for 2015-16:

Division I
First Team
USA – Maverick McNealy, Stanford University
Austria – Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt University
Second Team
Poland – Adrian Meronk, East Tennessee State University
France – Antoine Rozner, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Third Team
Norway – Kristoffer Ventura, Oklahoma State University
Honorable Mention
Wales – David Boote, Stanford University
Canada – Jared du Toit, Arizona State University
Sweden – Robin Petersson, Augusta University
Netherlands – Lars van Meijel, University of Memphis

Division II
First Team
Canada – Hugo Bernard, Saint Leo University
Second Team
Colombia – Mateo Gomez, Lynn University
Third Team
Venezuela – Manuel Torres, Lynn University
Honorable Mention
Dominican Republic – Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern University
Ecuador – Jose Andres Miranda, Lynn University

First Team
Hong Kong, China – Matthew Cheung, Oklahoma City University

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. To learn more, read the relevant section of the applicable Privacy Policy. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies.